If you’re ever in doubt about how to create an exercise plan, PLEASE seek out a qualified fitness professional and ALWAYS get a physical prior to starting your program!

Today you’re in luck, my friend, because I’m going to share with you another life changing concept. One that will super-charge your motivation and propel you to get noticeable RESULTS!

Like myself, a large percentage of my clientele are baby boomers and my experience working with those who actively seek out solutions to their problems have motivation enough. At this stage, we don’t need to move mountains to get in the best shape of our life; we just need to get up off our butts and MOVE! Everyone can do that.

So what motivates you? RESULTS are the true motivation. When you have a fitness plan that works, you can look in the mirror and say, “Damn, I feel good and I look good, this plan really works!”

Here’s an example of what I mean by RESULTS: The other day I laughed when my oldest emailed and said her friend had noticed that her arms were becoming more defined. Weeks prior she had made a comment about it being a good thing that she strength trains with all the lifting, pulling, tugging, and jumping that she does with her 2 year old.

It’s that kind of positive reinforcement (the rewards) of what she’s been doing so she keeps doing it. Every morning she takes her body out of its comfort zone and it shows. Her body craves it. And as you can see in the pic below, with arms like that, I’d sell tickets to her gun show any day!

So the problem isn’t lack of rah-rah inspiration. If you read her past posts, she’s living the lifestyle on a daily basis. It’s as natural to her as brushing her teeth.

The problem for most people is getting started and sustaining that motivation until fitness becomes habitual. Once you create the habit (which can take as little as 30 days) you’ll begin to see changes in your muscle definition and notice the immediate effect of feeling energized and refreshed. If your daily activity involves nothing more than moving from one piece of furniture to another, you’re simply not going to get the body you want. Being fit requires an intense, out of our comfort zone, work hard, and eat right mentality.

How many times have you had this great idea to work out and eat right yet failed to follow through with it? I bet right now, at this very moment, you know of at least one tip, idea, or strategy that will improve your health. So what’s stopping you from using that strategy to maximize your results?

Here’s my expert advice. Understand that this is a lifestyle change; keep your eye on the real prize, a healthy mind & body. Follow a fitness plan that fits your lifestyle, eat supportively, and be sure to set realistic goals based on the hip to waist ratio test. Take a photo of yourself today, just for the sake of comparison and whatever you do, stay off your scale. Live this lifestyle and love your body. Be patient and appreciate your body for how it is reacting, don’t fight it like it isn’t you. Work with it. Enjoy just being fit.

Visit the blog often for new workouts and scale the posted workouts to your own ability. If you did the circuit workout posted yesterday, do it again tomorrow. If you didn’t, try to do 2 circuits today. Just lace up your tennies and do it. You’ll be glad you did!

2 thoughts on “If you’re ever in doubt about how to create an exercise plan, PLEASE seek out a qualified fitness professional and ALWAYS get a physical prior to starting your program!

  1. Brittney Esser

    I always thought I was in shape! Then I got pregnant and told myself that I HAD to exercise everyday so that I didn’t turn into one of those women that regretted eating everything and anything during those 9 months to later have a difficult time losing it all!

    So yes I kept my promise to myself…I worked out at least 5 days a week up until the day before I delivered Peyton. Heck I wanted to work out the morning of my c-section but I wasn’t allowed to eat or drink anything; and if I cant chug my 1 liter of water while exercising then I knew I better just pass!

    Which brings me to my point….almost 2 years after delivering Peyton (yes it’s been 2 years can you imagine) I am IN BETTER shape than before I had her! I find a minimum of 20 minutes a day at least 5-6 times a week to squeeze in my workouts. I then get in more cardio/strength training while playing with her. And all those mommies out there know that an active toddler can be the best cardio ever!!!

    With that said…set your goals and aim towards them! It wont be long before you have gone far beyond what they originally were!

Comments are closed.