Getting Old SUCKS!

WOW, yesterday was a real eye opener for me. A childhood friend called to tell me that he was in town because his 86 year old dad (doc) was in ICU.  His parents retired in FL and while up visiting their kids, staying in separate cities, they both got sick.

His 81 year old mom had another bout of pneumonia while his father who was staying 150 miles south visiting his favorite local county fair, ended up in ICU with a parasite and a bleeding ulcer.

I’ve known this family since birth and I’ve watched mom (she was a nurse) and doc (he was a doctor who began the anesthesia/respiratory dept here at our local hospital) battle some major health obstacles throughout the years. The last time I saw them was 2 years ago at their grandsons’ graduation (my godson) and they were vibrant and maneuvering. Telling me tales of how they met, what’s been happening with their health, and sharing stories of what really happens in the operating room.

Since I don’t get to see them too often, I rescheduled my day to include the ICU unit. 24 months later; mom is in a wheel chair and doc is curled in a fetal position in ICU.

As I walk into the room, moms face lights up; she squeezes me tight, looks me in the eyes and says, “Carole, getting old SUCKS!”  I started to laugh and then I wept.

She looked at me with tears and said, “Honey, enjoy every day you have. Your 50’s and 60’s will be your best years, your 70’s everything starts to hurt and your 80’s, well, and they just SUCK!” 

So what’s my prescription for today? Try this:

15 minute cardio / 2-3 sets of:

  • 10 burpees
  • 10 squat/curl/press
  • 10 up/down dog
  • Dirty 30 (see vodpod video)

We can’t turn back the clock but we can wind it back up again!

One thought on “Getting Old SUCKS!

Comments are closed.