Secrets For Improving Your Metabolism

I’ve already mentioned that resistance training will increase the amount of calories your body burns throughout the day (even while you sleep.)  But what else can you do to speed the fat burning process?

Try CrossFit ~ exercises like jumping rope, bursts of jumping jacks, mountain climbers or even burpees. It will greatly enhance the rate at which your body burns calories. To effectively burn fat for fuel, you should keep your heart rate elevated for an extended period of time. In my workouts I perform a lot of compound movements over a 20-30 minute time period.

Here’s a simple formula to determine your intensity, and therefore, your target heart rate for burning away your stubborn body fat. On a scale of 1 to 10, with 10 being the most intense, rate the way your body feels during exercise. With 1 being a stroll in the park, 5 being a slow jog and 10, I think I’m going to puke.  NEVER take your body to a 10!

Remember, if you’re not accustomed to vigorous exercise, it won’t be hard at all to get into the zone. As long as you keep your heart rate elevated and out of your comfort zone, your body will become a finely tuned fat burning machine! I GUARANTEE it!

One thought on “Secrets For Improving Your Metabolism

  1. Brittney Esser

    I want to add one thing…if you do the SAME thing all the time, it’s not going to be effective after awhile. Only reason I’m adding this in is becuase it happened to me! I thought I could do the same cardio 3 times a week and the same strength training 3 times a week. Yeah for the first few weeks into months it was awesome then my body got accustomed to it. So SWITCH IT UP every week!!!

Comments are closed.