Running on a state route

Does anyone know if it is illegal to run on a state route? Jaci and I ran a quick 5K today and since most of the sidewalks were snow-covered and icy (yep, I ALMOST biffed it!) we decided to run portions of it on the road running single file, against traffic on a state route. And no, we weren’t running down the middle of the road being obnoxious and raising a bunch of ruckus! lol

Another fun-filled day in the life of the Laney’s πŸ™‚Β Go figure… we got pulled over by an overweight, out of shape, mean, Wadsworth cop. Lights and all! haha. I’m sure he didn’t have his morning donut fix and was probably a little jealous of us out there enjoying our brisk, refreshing run but he really didn’t have to be so mean about it.

I even thought about stopping in at the police dept and letting them know that they should keep the sidewalks clear for those of us that want to stay fit without breaking a leg. I’m sure the city would not want a lawsuit on their hands had I fallen and broke my leg in front of the police dept.

Does anyone know what the law states here in Ohio? I Googled it and couldn’t find anything.

11 thoughts on “Running on a state route

  1. Carole

    It was pretty funny – a ticket on our record for “road running” would have been funnier πŸ™‚ Be safe in Miami and DON’T run on the roads!!

  2. Kara

    What! That is crazy. I have heard of not riding bikes on sidewalks. Not much must have been happening in ‘ol Wadsworth today! I can just imagine the attitude you two gave him πŸ˜‰

Comments are closed.