Day 9 in the Paleo Cave

Its 5:30AM, a beautiful start to the day & my husband finds me on the back deck drinking coffee & writing this. “Are you doing your blog already this morning? Why do you invest so much time in that?” he asks.

“Because people do read what I write and they actually benefit from it. Here check this out.” I replied as I pointed to all of your replies. You see for me, if I don’t at least get the blog started, put in just a few words, I probably won’t finish it. It’s not something that I really love to do every day. Some people LOVE to blog. For me it’s just so time-consuming and half of what I write I delete, thinking no one really wants to read this, who cares if I slogged a 5K, did 30 pullups, 30 burpees, and a 30 calorie row for AMRAP in 30 minutes.

Kind of like exercise for some people. Don’t get me wrong, I LIKE to write but I L.O.V.E to workout so if I don’t set out my laptop (workout clothes) scrap paper & pen (tennies) and camera (water bottle) I’ll procrastinate about it, or even blow it off completely. But knowing that someone out there is benefiting from this (exercise benefits you in numerous ways) I keep writing, logging & documenting what it is that I do to stay fit & healthy (consistency is KEY)

Thursdays are always a challenging day for me because I have some of my private clients that have been with me 15+ years come in & they are always looking for something different. I LOVE that challenge of designing their workouts that motivate & stimulate them improving their every day function. Then my crazy fun 6PM CrossFit class comes in and well, that just puts a great ending to my already fantastic day!

Recently I’ve been running with my friend Erin. She is such a down to earth, easy to talk to kind of person. There’s just something about her that fires me up! She’s always so positive and always smiling. I LOVE having positive people in my life & Erin has been a great running buddy to motivate me & give me that swift kick in the ass! Thank you for that Erin 🙂

Breakfast was BORING! A couple hard-boiled eggs with some sweet tomatoes and two strawberries. Yep I took a pic of my eggs for you, haha, and my handful of veggies/fruit 🙂

I’ve planned (secret to SUCCESS) a turkey salad for lunch and bison steaks with grilled veggies for dinner. If I have time I’ll post pics 🙂

Thanks to those that responded to yesterdays post – I’m re-motivated to inspire & stimulate you to be your very BEST!

Enjoy an ACTIVE day and create the BEST day EVER!!

16 thoughts on “Day 9 in the Paleo Cave

  1. Peggy Courtright

    Yay!!! thanks!!! do you eat bread with your sandwich, i know that sounds funny, but some just wrap it in lettuce, just curious. I’m trying not to eat even gluten free bread or buns and I’m in such a pickle (no pun intended) as to how i can create meals. Getting tired of Salmon and eggs. And then I get so hungry I just grab things, arms, legs, etc…So I need to stock up on some good veggies and meats to eat! So I do appreciate your pics and your descriptions of what you eat! 🙂

  2. Carole

    I don’t eat bread Peggy and I would suggest to check out some Paleo books at your local library or just google different Paleo meals. It really is that easy if you plan & prepare ahead of time 🙂 Oh & I’m covering my arms & legs the next time I see you! hahahaha

  3. Sue K.

    I’ve just started with you, Carole, but already I love reading your blog and look forward to seeing what you have in store for us on Monday. I know this last bit of information will make Kari proud!!! I find you inspiring and motivating….just what I need at this time in my life! Thank you!

  4. Krista

    Carole – Way to go with the Paleo, and the blogging! Excellent analogy comparing your blogging tools/incentive to those of working out! Here’s a recipte I saw posted the other day and it made me think of you. Maybe it will be helpful for Peggy, too!

    Rosemary and Mustard Crusted Lamb
    Serves 4

    1 tablespoon fresh rosemary, chopped
    2 teaspoons freshly ground black pepper
    1/2 tablespoon sea salt
    1/2 teaspoon fresh sage, chopped
    2 teaspoons lemon juice
    3 tablespoons Dijon mustard
    4 to 6 thick cut lamb chops

    In a medium bowl, combine all ingredients except lamb. Mix very well and then smother each piece of meat on every side and place in a large zipper topped plastic bag and place in the refrigerator to marinate for 5 hours or overnight.
    At time of cooking, preheat outdoor grill to medium high and remove lamb from refrigerator. Remove from plastic bag and grill for about 4 to 8 minutes per side, depending on thickness, and your preference for your meat.

    SERVING SUGGESTIONS: Serve with baked sweet potatoes and a spinach salad. (You can “bake” the potatoes on the grill or in your crock cooker to keep your kitchen cool.)

  5. Christine Wierzbowski

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE to ready your blogs… It is that simple (and funny) reminder to refocus 🙂 thanks Carole

  6. karisadventure

    Between you and your wonderful daughter you both keep me motivated and inspired to improve my life, my mind, my body, my soul. I love you both some much! Keep it up, and maybe one day I”ll get my blog back up again…..:) Thanks for an amazing 65 workout tonight!!! And I’M SOOOOOOO GLAD Sue loves you as much as I do!

  7. Michele

    I read your blog every morning before I do my workout at home and it inspires me for the day. As mentioned above, amazing 65 workout last night. I was very pleased w/my weigh in results compared to 2 months ago! Thanks for everything you do!

  8. Faye Yates

    Hey Carole, I do read your blog everyday & love seeing the meals you put together!!! It sounds like Don mainly eats like this too??? You keep me motivated!! love ya!!!

  9. Ash

    I know you said you don’t love to blog but you are a talented writer. Your posts are interesting and well written. Love the blog, keeps me motivated!

Comments are closed.